Post Zero (or, Why I’m Doing This Blog)

Oddly enough, it didn’t occur to me at the time to explain in my first post why I was doing this blog. I do go into it in the About The Blog section here but I don’t really go into profound detail. If you’re a regular reader, you probably have some understanding of why I’m doing this exactly and what I’m trying to say. It is my intention to make it explicit here.

1. To combat misinformation

Autism is a gold mine of misinformation, and understandably so since it’s not very well understood among the public; it’s categorized as a terrible mental illness or a disease, sometimes abhorrently referred to as “mad child disease,” and because of that, people form their own ideas based on what it is. Even though there is a lot of misinformation in this world, it could easily be debunked with a healthy dose of critical thinking, something that the average American citizen apparently lacks. Some people like this man or some studies like this one can be rendered useless when armed with some basic facts about the world enhanced by some elementary logic and some understanding of cause and effect. Plus, one of my methods is assuming that everything we know is wrong, a la Descartes. It might drive me insane and that may show in my prose.

2. To liven up the conversation as someone with autism

As much as I advocate critical thinking, this is something that critical thinking alone cannot remedy. My experience with being on the spectrum provides another far more important layer of authority for me to work with. The blogging auties, myself included, are an indispensible part of the conversation and are becoming more commonplace but as it stands, researchers on autism are dominant in the discourse. Having researchers of autism dominate the conversation on autism is like having anthropologists specializing in race dominate the conversation on racism in its cold and clinical nature or having men talk about women’s issues in its blind and misguided nature.

3. Catharsis

As for why I’m “Angry Autie,” I’m not angry because someone took my ice cream or because someone broke my train set. I’m actually quite friendly in real life, albeit a bit of a recluse at times. I’m ‘angry’ in a philosophical sense. It’s an abstract anger directed toward…something. I’m angry at an intangible ideal and I have no distinct physical agent at which I could point the finger. I could vandalize magazines with supermodels and men in suits on the covers but that won’t accomplish anything. As I’ve written in the past, the ideal of the ‘normal’ is one that has left me feeling alienated and sub-human. Whenever someone tells me that things should be a certain way or when someone speaks of a person or a group of people that I should supposedly aspire to be like, I boil up inside. I have found writing to be the best way to vent at something abstract since writing and thoughts themselves are abstract.

—–

And now for some house cleaning. I will no longer be posting three times per week. As of this post, I will be reducing it to Monday and Friday and I regret to mention that there’s a possibility that it will be reduced to Fridays only in the near future. I’m trying to write a book AND I’ve been neglecting my music ever since I’ve started this blog (I’ve only written one piece since I started blogging two months ago and I was previously far more productive than that). This blog has been taking up a disproportionate amount of my creative energy. I’m still going to blog out of a sense of duty, which I consider to be a kind of love given the subject.

2 thoughts on “Post Zero (or, Why I’m Doing This Blog)

  1. Adam, please keep blogging.
    It is VERY inciteful to be able to view AUTISM through your eyes. I have an autistic teenaged niece who is probably a mid- functioner. (Not high or low) I’ve watched as her parents have struggled with schools and doctors, and well meaning people, and I’ve watched her develope into a charming and curious person. I’ve also started to notice that probably my entire family inhabit various places on the SPECTRUM.
    So I’m happy for any information I can get to help me better understand autism.
    I’ve learned(after being diagnosed with ADD, myself) that knowing what one’s “condition” is does not change it, but maybe makes it easier to embrace our strengthens and flaws and not feel like we are somehow failing somebody.
    Anyway, I like your blog. I’ve meant to comment before.
    I have met you briefly,as I know your dad. I wish I could’ve been around when all my friends from the 1970’s had their kids growing up. Now you all are just POW! Adults!
    Kitty Sondern Snyder

  2. One small problem:

    While Normdom (the N.T. world as a whole) isn’t inclined to (gasp!) work (double-gasp!) so as to understand us, they don’t see the need to do so, either. The reason is simple: via instinct, they know us to be ‘lesser beings’, ‘not fully human’, ‘life unworthy of life’, and ‘useless feeders’.

    That’s ***ALL*** Normdom wishes to know (as the drive toward maximal social dominance embodies all of the forty-eight laws of power and especially ‘only associate with people of the same or preferably higher social standing than your own’) and needs to know (as social standing is – at best – a zero-sum game, and hence you increase your social standing in the dominance hierarchy by the varied forms of predation – and autists, especially those ***criminals*** who look and act ‘more or less normal’ are perfect means of gaining status.)

    Why target autists, and those who can ‘pass’ (grrrr…) especially? Even simpler: since predation is about ‘the predator’s hunger, the predator’s labor, and the predator’s risk’, the social predator can hope for NO better target: full points in terms of increasing the predator’s social profit margin (as autists of all stripes are seen as ‘evil’ – with those able to ‘function’ (suposedly) being seen as ‘the acme of evil’); the easiest to prey upon, due to the inability to discern most social gamesmanship (until it’s too late) – and, due to society-wide revulsion, little or no risk to the predator. This means ‘autists who can ‘pass’ are PERFECT targets’ – and hence autists get preyed upon without relent or mercy.

Leave a Reply

